The Louisiana Age of Consent is 17 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 16 or younger in Louisiana are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape. Louisiana statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 17 who is not their spouse. Louisiana does not have a close-in-age exemption. Close in age exemptions , commonly known as "Romeo and Juliet laws", are put in place to prevent the prosecution of individuals who engage in consensual sexual activity when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both partners are below the age of consent.
Louisiana Age of Consent Lawyers
Legal age for dating in louisiana - Harmony Therapy Group
To the child? To the case? Hey my name courtney Terrell asking for help for my lil brother ladirous terrell he got in trouble with some young boys an it dealing with kidnapping an carjacking iam only asking for help!! Because I just dont know wat more to do with the case they went head an charge him as a adult an they made You should seriously consider reaching out to a criminal defense lawyer, as these situations are very fact-specific. Most lawyers on here, myself included, are willing to provide a free consultation to see how we can help out, or at the very least guide you in the right direction. So the social services placed me with my dad yesterday, the last place I want to be.
What is the legal age of consent in Louisiana?
If underage dating involves sexual intercourse, state statutory rape laws may apply. If you are charged and found guilty of having sex with a person who is younger than the statutory age of consent, you face the possibility of incarceration. If you're concerned about breaking laws on underage dating, the first thing to know is that no such laws exist. However, you should be aware of statutory rape laws if you're dating someone younger than the legal age of consent in your state.
Your year-old son is dating a year-old female classmate — no big deal, right? Take, for example, the widely publicized case of Marcus Dwayne Dixon, an year-old high school honor student and star football player who had sex with a year-old female classmate. She claimed it was rape, he claimed it was consensual, and a jury acquitted him of the charges. However, because of their age difference, the jury still found Dixon guilty of statutory rape and aggravated child molestation, and sentenced him to a mandatory 10 years in prison under Georgia law. He walked out of prison on May 3, , at age 19, a free man.